October 2007 - New Board Members & Committees

Governance: ERA’s 2007-2008 Board of Directors and Committees

By Sieglinde Friedman

With the overwhelming support of the membership, six new ERA retail members were elected to the Board of Directors. Each brings a wealth of experience and industry knowledge to the Board: Brett Goffin, industry development, retail at Google, Inc., is responsible for helping create national sales and account strategy for the country’s Fortune 500+ retail advertisers. Lawrence Hayes, vice president legal and assistant secretary at QVC, was named vice president, legal in August 2000. In this position, Hayes primarily provides legal advice and services to the IT, QVC.com, facilities and human resources departments. He also supervises outside attorneys in commercial and litigation matters, as well as taking on additional responsibilities. Brad Klaus, CEO of Syndero, Inc., leads a rapidly growing, next-generation direct response product company that is uniquely positioned to take advantage of the shift in consumer viewing and buying habits toward online media. The company utilizes a scalable technology platform and deep expertise in online marketing to quickly build leading brands. Brent Thompson, vice president government affairs, heads the government affairs office of IAC/InterActive Corp, which owns some 65 interactive brands including HSN (formerly Home Shopping Network), which pipes on-air sales reps into some 89 million U.S. homes; U.S. ticket retailer Ticketmaster; and Match.com and LendingTree, online dating and loan websites, respectively. Dirk W. van de Bunt, SVP business affairs and co-EVP front-end at Guthy-Renker Corp., brings years of experience in management with technological changes in the television production and distribution industry. Before joining Guthy-Renker, van de Bunt served as co-president and COO of the Carsey-Werner Company. Finally, Jim Warner, Esq, is EVP general counsel at HSN. Warner was the former deputy counsel for Ticketmaster in Europe.

In addition to the newly elected Board members, the Board of Directors approved its Executive Committee, which includes: Ed Garrubbo (Creative Commerce), chair; Nathan Fagre (ShopNBC), chair-elect; Lee Swanson (InPulse Response Group), treasurer; Jeff Tuller (Savvier, Inc.), secretary; Maria Kennedy (Discovery Com­munications); and Robert Roche (Oak Lawn Marketing), at-large members; Rick Petry, immediate past chair; and Barbara Tulipane. These officers are joined by their colleagues: Brian Bieron (eBay), Branimir Brkljac (Studio Moderna), Jonathan Congdon (Beachbody), Steve Edelstein (The Logical Step), Adriana Eiriz (consultant), Christopher Gassett (Special Data Processing Corp.), Linda Goldstein (Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP), Maria Kennedy (Discovery Communications) and Fern Lee (Gaiam).

In concert with the Board, ERA’s standing and program committees assist in harnessing the annual strategic objectives, ensuring all aspects of ERA’s efforts are unified. The standing committees of the Board-the chairs of which are appointed by the Board chair-include the executive, nominating, finance, bylaw & policy review, ethics, and strategic planning committees. These standing bodies are populated by Board members, with at-large members appointed by the committee chairs (see Board chart below).

Program committees, whose chairs are appointed by the Board chair, include: meetings and conventions (Peter Koeppel, chair); public relations (Jeff Melzer, chair), membership (Nathan Fagre and Stacy Durand, co-chairs), government affairs (Larry Hayes, chair), and education (Brett Goffin, chair).

Both standing and program committees are assisted by ERA staff. The staff liaison serves the committee in an administrative and advisory role, with responsibilities that include: (a) Establish monthly (or other) meeting schedule (and/or virtual meeting schedule) and prepare an agenda for each committee meeting, circulating it to the committee prior to the meeting; (b) Prepare and/or update annually a written description of the committee’s chair charges, functions and responsibilities. In addition, with the Board’s approval, draft committee charter; (c) Record the attendance at and proceedings of each committee meeting through the taking of written minutes; and, (d) Making recommendations to the committee chair on organizational or industry trends, organizational finances, direction and concepts.

ERA encourages all members to join a program committee this year-each member’s voice is valued and sought. If you’ve served on a committee in the past, please feel free to try a different one. In conclusion, the committee system is a pipeline not only to a better association, but also an essential element in the governance of ERA.

Sieglinde Friedman is ERA’s vice president, board & strategy. She can be reached at (703) 908-1021, or via e-mail at [email protected].


No Comments

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment